Considering a SH150i but worried about the brakes

Discuss the SH- the one in your garage or at the dealer showroom
sportclassic

Considering a SH150i but worried about the brakes

Post by sportclassic » Sun Oct 16, 2016 11:02 am

Hi folks! :)

I've been riding motorbikes for the last 10 years (I just hit 30 yo!) and had 7 bikes. CB750, Bandit 1200, SV650, DL650, BMW F800ST, CBF1000, etc. All of those bikes were equipped with ABS brakes because I ride a lot in the city and consider my drivers here as crazy (yes, I live in Montreal). I can't say I used it very often because I ride defensively most of the time, but I'm happy I had it 2-3 times over that period of time.

I'm actually considering a scooter because I don't enjoy the mountains and widing roads like I used to. Now I have a Honda CBF1000 but I do pretty much only town rides and it's vastly overkill for this, top heavy, etc. So here comes the idea of the scooter. After a lot of researches, I think I could really enjoy an SH150i. I'm sold on the bike as far as it's a good engine, strong, light and frugal.

I know the 2010 SH150i has CBS brakes but is now offered with ABS brakes all over Europe and Asia.

Now, a man in my surroundings is selling a nice and mint SH150i with top case + givi windshield and 5,000 miles for 1800 $ CAD (1400 USD $). Its either this or a brand new Burgman 200 ABS, but it's like almost 6000$ OTD so... a lot more for ABS.

Anyway, my question is, how are the brakes on the 2010 SH150i? Am I taking a big risk if I buy this scooter ? Maybe it's just psychological but it seems crazy to me to buy a vehicle without ABS now that I had it all my life on 2 wheels.

Thank you for reading this!
Sportclassic from Montreal

TommyXP
Staff

Re: Considering a SH150i but worried about the brakes

Post by TommyXP » Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:17 am

Dear Mr. SportClassic and welcome,
IMHO Grab that SH at that price pronto and Never look back.